Melbourne Marathon

15 Oct

We did it!

Last Sunday S and I both achieved personal bests in our fourth outing for the Melbourne Marathon.

It was a beautiful day, perfect conditions for running early in the morning and then for walking once the sun came out.

I can honestly say that I completely enjoyed my 10km run. Surprised about how much I enjoyed it in fact. My first ever run in any organised sort of event (I’ve only taken up running a few months ago).

Leading up to the event, I’d been saying that all I wanted to do was finish the race. But once I started running, I realised that I didn’t want to just finish it, I wanted to ran as fast as I could. There was such an adrenaline rush in running alongside so many other people.

I ran the 10kms in just under an hour (and I mean JUST under – 59:16). I got a stitch at the 8km mark which slowed me down. I am hopeful of getting an even better time next year. YEP. There will be a next year. I am hooked on running now. Next big event will be 14kms ‘Run For the Kids’ (for the Royal Children’s Hospital) in March next year. Will start training tomorrow.

I had a good 2 hours to rest in between the 10km run and S’s 4 km walk. He was all geared up to walk as far as he could, but  his real goal was the final lap around the MCG.

I was proud to see him walk further than he ever has before (and we’re sold on the Crocodile walker. It’s definitely the choice for next year). He rode the most part of the walk on his bike.

And he excelled in his efforts at the G.

He practically raced around in his walker and then when we were about 20 metres from the finish line, he decided to ditch the walker all together and WALKED all the way across the line. I am 100% confident that next year he could do the WHOLE lap of the G without his walker, unaided.

AMAZING. AWESOME.

It’s times like this that I can really reflect on how far S has come. Last year he walked the lap with his walker, but it was a struggle towards the end. He was so tired.

This year, he was flying.

He has developed so much more strength and endurance. And he just seems a whole lot more mature. He is almost a school boy. In every way.

On the way home he told me he can’t wait for the Marathon again next year. And he told me than when he’s 10, he wants to do the 1okm run with me.

I’ll be there at the start line with you S. I believe you can do anything that you put your mind to. You are my inspiration.

7 Responses to “Melbourne Marathon”

  1. Sarah October 15, 2010 at 10:56 am #

    Lovely post Di!

    I am so proud of S!

    Oh and you did a great job too! I couldn’t see myself running it, I think I would have to walk for sure!

  2. Alison October 15, 2010 at 10:20 pm #

    I’ve been looking forward to this post Di. It sounds like a fantastic day. I LOVE LOVE LOVE the photos of S crossing the line while walking ALL BY HIMSELF. What a moment!

  3. Bron October 15, 2010 at 10:49 pm #

    LOVE it Di! congratulations to the both of you.
    I adore that last pic of you looking just so damn proud! xo

  4. Jacqui October 16, 2010 at 8:08 am #

    Well done to both of you. Great effort!

  5. Kara October 17, 2010 at 3:43 pm #

    That is so awesome! Way to go both of you. S is amazing indeed. Fabulous photos too. Brought some tears of happiness and hope to my eyes.

  6. Belinda October 19, 2010 at 9:22 am #

    I am so proud of you all!

    Amaaaaaazing! xx.

  7. Ally November 9, 2010 at 10:23 am #

    What a champion!! I am so proud of you all! xx

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

