Archive | 11:52 am

Mary and Max

26 Apr

mary-and-max-11

I went to the cinema today. This is not something that happens very often.

I wish it happened more. I LOVE going to the cinema.

It’s my own fault it doesn’t happen more often. I forget to arrange time out for myself to see a film when there’s something out I really want to see.

And then when I impulsively plan to go see a film, there’s nothing I want to see, or not at the time I want to see it.

But I had a free ticket to see a film (thanks Carers Victoria!) so I invited a friend along and we went to see the wonderful claymated feature film ‘Mary and Max’.

This film touched my heart. It was very beautiful.

mary-and-max-3

It’s the story of a very unlikely friendship between a lonely young Australian girl living in the Melbourne suburbs and an obese middle aged American living in New York who has Aspergers Syndrome.

It is funny, poignant, tragic and incredibly heartwarming. It’s also beautifully constructed. It’s awe-inspiring to consider the hours (and love!) that must have gone into its creation.

I’d be interested to know what anyone who has Aspergers thinks of the film. I don’t know much about Aspergers, but I thought the subject was dealt with with compassion and considerable thought. It was an important part of the film, but more importantly an integral part of the character who at one point (and this isn’t spoiling the plot in any way) expresses his dislike of Aspergers being considered a ‘disability’ OR something that might be cured in the future. He says “I do not feel disabled…I like being an Aspie.”

I am guessing that Max would also have disliked the Sundance Film Festival summary of the film which says he ‘suffers from’ Aspergers Syndrome.  Instead, for him, it’s just part of who he is, and without it he wouldn’t be himself.

It’s a great film. If you get the chance to see it, I’d highly recommend it. Take a friend. And a tissue or two.

mary-and-max-2

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.