Archive | 9:55 pm

Adventures of the (wishing) chair.

13 Mar

adventures-of-the-wishing-chairDoes anyone remember the ‘Adventures of the Wishing Chair’ books? In case you had an Enid Blyton deprived childhood, they are a series of books about a couple of kids, a pixie called Chinky and a flying chair. They were amongst my favourite books. I’ve been looking for them lately because I want to read them to my boys (and see if they still rate as highly for me now as they did when I was a kid!).

If only a flying chair were one of our options now. THAT would be fun.

Back to earth now, thanks to everyone for their comments about my last post about getting a chair for BC. Special thanks to Heike, Jacqui and Rich for their great thought provoking comments about different chair options for BC.

For anyone who didn’t read their comments on my last post, they all wondered why I wasn’t looking at a chair that BC could push himself rather than a stroller type chair.

Which got my thinking the same thing. Why not? I really love that blogging can give me such immediate and thought provoking feedback ;-).

I’ve thought long and hard about the chair again, taking into account when in reality BC will probably use a chair and I have decided that FOR NOW we will stick with our original plan for the Convaid stroller.

Why you may ask? Why don’t I want to get a chair like this that he can push? Why don’t I want to give him that freedom and that upper body workout?

quickie-kidz

The Quickie Kidz Chair

OR a chair like this that I can send him into battle with (love this chair Rich, thanks for sharing!):

tank-chair

Tank Chair

Well, mostly because as I said in my last post, the main reason we will use the chair is for when he is too tired to walk. I know my boy. If he is too tired to walk then he will be too tired to push.

I am also not convinced that he has the upper body strength and coordination to push a chair. I will definitely be revisiting that later though. It wouldn’t be the first time that I had underestimated my boy if I’d got that wrong ;-).

Another reason, purely practical, is that we have a 4 door hatchback car. There is a) no way we can afford a new car right now and b) no way one of these chairs would fit in our car (along with the walker, stroller for little Bean etc etc).

But really, if I thought that the Quickie chair would be the very best for BC, I would overcome the problem with the car. Somehow.

BUT with BC consistently making such great gains with his walker and choosing to walk more and more, I think at the moment, he really needs a chair for when he needs a break.

So, as I’ve said. Thanks again so much for the suggestions and sage words of advice. I really do appreciate the brain food!

I am sure this won’t be the end of our chair adventures, but for now, we’re back to the Purple Pusher ;-).

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.