Archive | 12:39 pm

Books we love

11 Apr

We read books a LOT. I mean seriously, a LOT.

In fact, if it were up to BC we wouldn’t do much else.

So it’s in my very best interest to choose books that I like as much as he does. Because once he’s found a book that he likes, we will pretty much read nothing else until the pages are worn out and I can pretty much read it with my eyes closed.

Thank goodness for libraries.

And for my super aunts who taught me a love of good books when I was a child and are now wonderfully still buying books for my children too.

We read a lot of Maisy books, Bananas in Pyjamas and Noddy books but the books we really love at the moment are -

In The Night Kitchen – Maurice Sendak.

Actually, I have loved this book too since I was a child and we read my old very well thumbed copy of the text. We should really buy another copy. I was a brotherless child and therefore a little shocked at the sight of Mickey’s naked body and drew some clothes on him. I wasn’t the only one who did this. I was interested recently to read that the book when it was first published in 1970 was actually quite controversial and librarians also gave him some clothes. I really must get to the shops and buy my boys their own, uncensored version – but I’m torn because I also love the fact that I am reading to them the exact same copy of the book that was once read to me. I think that’s special.

BC loves the artwork and thinks the fact he loses his clothes, nearly gets baked into a cake and turns the batter into an aeroplane is fantastic. It’s always a winner and I could honestly read it over and over again.

‘Harriet, you’ll drive me wild’, by Mem Fox

Mem Fox is awesome. The usual favourite is “Where is the Green Sheep’, which is great, but I love this one more.

Whenever BC frustrates me (which ok, I’ll admit is often, he is 3 after all!) my catchcry has now become a borrowed line from the book ‘BC, my darling child. BC, you’ll drive me wild’ which he just loves. It diffuses even the most tense of moments into giggles…..

You really do need to read this book and, as we do, interpose your own child’s name in place of Harriet, who ‘was a pesky child. She didn’t mean to be. She just was.’ It’s so gorgeous and so true. And I love that if I DO lose my cool, we can venture back to this book to talk about how sometimes mummy’s do get cross, ‘just like that’….

‘The Story of Growl’ by Judith Horacek

Judith Horacek is actually the illustrator of Where is the Green Sheep. This book, which she wrote and illustrated is gorgeous. It was an Easter gift and our new favourite. Little Growl the monster is different and his growling not very socially acceptable to his neighbours. I love that rather than Growl being forced to change, his difference is ultimately celebrated. The text is sparing and beautiful and the illustrations are gorgeous. AND BC now LOVES to practice his growl (or ‘gow’ at least ;-)).

I wish I could say I am reading something of my own, ie. a ‘grown up book’, that is equally impressing me. I haven’t read a book since we got back from our holiday overseas. Sad, but true ;-(. I have however, just picked up a copy of Tibor Fishcer’s ‘Don’t Read This If you’re stupid‘ from the library. Reviews I’ve read are mixed, but any collection of short stories with such a title must be worth a look. And apparently one of his other books ‘Under The Frog’ is brilliant. The library didn’t have that one, so I am starting out with a ‘taster’. I haven’t read a collection of short stories for ages, so I am looking forward to getting into it…..soon.

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.