Archive | 10:31 pm

Found! Hurray for Aunty J!

27 May

The suit has been recovered. Can’t tell you how relieved I am! It was under some toys in the bedroom. Phew!

I must confess though, that it wasn’t me who found it. It was Aunty J.

For anyone who doesn’t know, Aunty J is the boys’ paternal Aunt (i.e my husband’s sister). It is so often Aunty J who finds things. In fact,  it’s so often Aunty J who saves the day in many ways.

I often have people say things to me like ‘I don’t know how you do it.’, ‘You’re amazing for getting everything done’. etc etc.

Well, here’s the truth. I am far, far, far from amazing. And I don’t get everything done.

Aunty J does a lot of it.

She looks after the other kids when one has an appointment, she cooks, she cleans, she makes S’s bandanas and sews up holes in the kids’ clothes, she takes turns with me getting up at 4am in the morning when baby A decides it’s time to play. She listens to me when I need a a whinge and she endures me when I am grumpy. I could go on, and on and on!

In short, she keeps our home running when otherwise, honestly, it would all go to crap.

We know we’re lucky to have her in our family. We also know that we won’t have her forever (guess we’ll have to let her go off and have her own life one of these days, sigh!).

For anyone who stumbles across this post looking for information about a Carer visa to help with a child with a disability in Australia,  feel free to drop me a line and I will tell you how we went about getting one. It wasn’t an easy process, nor cheap, but definitely one of the best decisions we’ve made in recent years.

For the record, a Carer visa is only available to a sibling or close family member of the family (e.g aunt, uncle, grandparent etc), so it’s not option for many, but if anyone is in a similar family situation to ours it can be a lifesaver. Well, it has been for us.

Anyone who is reading this blog who has met J, enjoyed her warm and and engaging personality, tried her beautiful cooking and seen how brilliant she is with kids will know exactly what I am talking about. We’re a very lucky family to have her.

So hooray, hooray, hooray for Aunty J :-).

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.