Mighty fine…

11 Jan

Mighty fine motor control that is.

S did this all by himself.

It’s just a simple card threading activity, but the fact that he could do it BY HIMSELF makes me smile so much. The only ‘modification’ I made was to wind some sticky tape around the end of the thread so that it was a bit more stiff and easier to thread through. And I threaded it through the first hole and tied it off so it couldn’t come undone. Apart from that, he did it all himself with only a few reminders from me along the way to use his ‘helping’ hand as well as his ‘doing’ hand.

That gives me such hope for school!

Also fine is our progress with M on the toilet training. He’s very keen to use both the toilet and the potty. As you can see below, the potty is coming with us everywhere.

We had our first poo in the potty yesterday – woohoo!  Today he’s at child care for the first day of the year. Fingers crossed he’s having a good, dry, clean day there :-).

I was on the search for best kids books for encouraging toilet training last week. Just thought I’d share that for M, of all the books I borrowed from the library (and there were several) the one that hit the mark was ‘I want my Potty’ by Tony Ross. It’s one of the Little Princess books. M has been wandering around the house and garden over the past week saying quite frequently both ‘I want my potty!’ and ‘The potty’s the place!’. Cute.

And another fine thing is watching our gorgeous Baby A head towards his first birthday this weekend with growing confidence and cheekiness. As you can see below, I don’t think he’s too far away from taking a step or two….(and note M in his UNDIES in the background! If you’re wondering what M is doing, he’s being a patient for S and taking off some bandages).

And finally on the fine front, I am back in training. I will be doing the 14.38km Run for The Kids in April. All money raised goes to the wonderful Royal Children’s Hospital here in Melbourne, a place to close to our hearts. We were there just yesterday for a dermatology appointment for S (his continued poor skin is definitely NOT fine :-()

I’ve been getting in a run nearly every day this year and looking forward to the challenge. Also happy to have anyone join me?

Thanks so much for all the supportive comments on my last post. I love a bit of blogtherapy. I feel so unburdened about getting it off my chest and we’re just focusing on the NOW and the future.  Thanks again for all your lovely words xo

4 Responses to “Mighty fine…”

  1. Bron Leeks January 11, 2011 at 5:47 am #

    Di that pic of M on the potty on the side of the road is awesome! I love it so much! wow on baby A turning one! I cannot believe that at all….I thought he was still 1 month old! lol doesn;t explain the fact that I saw him cruising and did not click he was nearing one! glad things are looking up too apart from the skin that is.

  2. Alison January 11, 2011 at 6:07 am #

    I LOVE the potty photo!!

  3. Sarah January 11, 2011 at 8:05 am #

    I have a very similar roadside potty photo of V…very cute!

    Wow 1 already!

    Hope your training goes well for the upcoming fundraiser!

  4. Ally January 12, 2011 at 5:03 am #

    What a great post Di {apart from the skin news :(} what clever little guys you have!

    I can’t believe how grown up A is now, to think it was just over a year ago I saw you all just before he was born!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

