‘Point-it’ Joystick

15 Jun

While I am in my tech review mode, here’s another.

We went to CPEC today to trial a ‘Point-it’ joystick for S to use in place of a conventional computer mouse, which as I mentioned in my last post, he finds very hard to use.

The ‘Point-it’ looks like this (there are different options for the shape):

S tried first with his weaker right hand. I thought it was going to be a real fizzer as his control was poor and he couldn’t get a decent grip on the joystick at all.

But then magically, as we changed it over to his stronger left hand, he took control. He was able to really efficiently use the joystick to navigate the screen and use the buttons on the sides of the joystick to make things happen. He was excited. I was excited too.

The joystick can work on any computer and just plugs into a regular USB port. You can adjust the speed of the movement of the cursor and the different buttons allow for left click, right click and drag functions. You don’t need any software on a computer to use it, so from what I gathered, you simply can plug it into any computer and use it straight away.

We’re hopefully going to be able to borrow one over the school hols so S can get a bit more practice with it at home.

Exciting!

BUT expensive.

This nifty bit of hardware will cost more than our iPad – it’s listed here on the Spectronics website as costing $879.

Ouch.

But, I can really see how this would open up access to computers for S, especially at school.

So, funding applications, here we come again!!

(And maybe a tattslotto ticket on Saturday night – this going to school next year caper is getting to be an expensive business)….

7 Responses to “‘Point-it’ Joystick”

  1. Kara Sharp June 15, 2010 at 12:23 pm #

    Argh! I can’t believe it’s that expensive, it’s such a small piece of equipment! But so helpful and important. Very exciting that it works so well for S!

  2. katilea June 15, 2010 at 12:59 pm #

    I can! I’m in UK, I use joystick Plus with my mac’s as it also allows switch access, so you control speed and direction (switch between left/right only, up/down only) handy for people with particularly bad control but prefer this over scanning which takes alot longer.

    I paid £250 for my Joystick Plus from a company that offered a reduction for those with disability benefits plus VAT exemption (normally £289).

    http://katilea.wordpress.com/about/me-my-macs-assistive-technology-and-ataxia/

  3. ALison June 15, 2010 at 9:52 pm #

    Looks great! Ashlea is getting an iMAC (for Mummy to use too…) and some intellikeys. I don’t know that we’re up to mouse control yet, but I’ll definitely keep that in mind.

  4. Ellen June 26, 2010 at 6:45 am #

    That thing looks cool but, man, that is a chunk of change. I hope you can get it for less!!! We may have to consider that. Max has been doing OK with the iPad. Last week, he managed to hold the button down too long on the app and he erased the whole thing, the school was not too pleased. He’s a little obsessive about returning again and again to his Friends page and showing me his best friend, Caleb. We need to encourage him to use it for more things! This week we have vacation, I’m going to really work on it with him.

  5. Bron July 4, 2010 at 12:42 pm #

    Hi di we are doing this search next term and i am shocked at the price that seriously is revolting! That joystick is the same shaoe as coopers power chair one too.

  6. Gina August 5, 2010 at 7:17 am #

    Di
    Sorry I have been MIA. Have you looked at the apps on the iPhone to turn your iphone into your mouse and keyboard. Could that work. We have tried the Logitech Mouse app and it was pretty good.
    Gina

  7. Gina August 5, 2010 at 7:18 am #

    Oops I meant iPad or iPhone since he has the iPad.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

