Testing, testing…..

29 Jan

I’ve had a bit of a reality check about how easy it is having a baby.

It’s easy when everything goes well.

But as soon as there’s a question mark of any kind, geez it gets hard quickly!

I had a phone call last night from the hospital saying that they want to redo the newborn screening tests for the baby.

These tests test for genetic and metabolic disorders – the most scary of which is cystic fibrosis, but others that would also be not much fun to deal with.

They couldn’t tell me WHY they wanted to retest. Just that they needed to do it and wanted it done as soon as possible.

So I didn’t sleep well last night. Fear instantly crept into bed with us. I held him a little more tightly than I have other nights and I found myself listening to his breathing, checking his body for anything unusual. BUT no, he just seems perfect.

We were already heading into the hospital today to do his newborn hearing test so it worked out well for me to also get the screening test done today as well.

We did the hearing test first. AND his hearing is fine. I wasn’t quite as fine, because the tester used Avagard handrub on her hands before doing the testing.

For anyone who’s spent time in a NICU, you may identify with the horrible memories that can be churned up by THAT smell. For me, it just sums up everything that was awful about being in the NICU. She was standing right beside me, attaching the sensors to the baby’s head. It might sound silly, but I had to summon up all my energy to just not burst into tears.

BUT I didn’t. And his hearing is fine. Yay.

Next, I had to head over to the special care nursery for the repeat screening test. Another place I really would rather not be. It’s not the special care nursery where S was, but still.  There they were. All those tiny little babies, all those anxious parents not able to take their bundles of joy home yet. AND again. That smell. Ugh.

The baby didn’t wake when they pricked his heel. He’s such a cool dude.

The nurse tried to soothe my nerves, telling me it was ‘probably nothing’ and to just take confidence from how well he’s feeding and growing to just assume they needed to retest because it was a dud sample first time around.

And I know the odds are definitely in our favour that it IS nothing to worry about.

BUT I will still worry. Because we’ve fallen the wrong side of the odds in the past. I’m not brave enough to consider that everything will automatically be fine.

I’ll try not to worry too much though. Especially as they’ve said it might be TEN days til we get results.

I will just keep enjoying this beautiful boy who is still feeding and sleeping like a dream. He is having longer periods of being awake and he loves to just gaze into the eyes of whoever is holding him. And he’s learnt to love his baths too.

More photos to come (the cable to to the computer hasn’t been unpacked yet….it’s got to be here somewhere???)

AND he has a name. To keep in line with the blog, I’ll be keeping it to initials – he is an A baby. We tried very hard for a J name to stick with tradition, but it really did reach a point where there just wasn’t the perfect J name around……

And now I am off for another cuddle.

10 Responses to “Testing, testing…..”

  1. Sarah January 29, 2010 at 8:57 am #

    Dianne, how worrying for you to be called back in to have bub re-tested. I really hope that all will be fine and it was just a dud sample last time.

    I know what you mean about those smells, I still experience all our bad memories whenever Violet is admitted now.

  2. Alison January 29, 2010 at 9:02 am #

    Oh Di – I am so sorry to hear you have this worry! I know it won’t stop you worrying, BUT Ashlea had to re-do her tests and they all came back fine the second time.
    I’ll be thinking of you over the next 10 days.

  3. Susan, Mum to Molly January 29, 2010 at 11:43 am #

    Oooooh Di, I know exactly what you mean about the hand gel taking you right back to THAT PLACE.

    For us it is the Aquim brand, which was all over the JHH ICU when Molly was there. There is also the sound of the ICU monitor alarm, which crops up in TV shows occasionally (and I won’t even mention what seeing the Westpac rescue helicopter does to me…)

    So sorry to hear you have had that little question mark and associated worry intrude on your lovely babymoon.

    I will be keeping you and little A in my thoughts over the next 10 days (please don’t forget to let us know the result!!).

    Take care, and sleep better tonight. Hugs, Susan

  4. bron January 30, 2010 at 8:22 am #

    Di, I am so sorry you have to have more tests and more so reliving that crap nicu time and that damn handgel smell..yuck. sending you much much love xobron

  5. Sue January 30, 2010 at 9:04 am #

    Oh what what a pain!
    Good luck with the results. What ever they turn out to be, he will still be perfect :)

  6. Barbara January 31, 2010 at 1:14 am #

    Counting down the days until full reassurance.

  7. Gina February 1, 2010 at 9:49 am #

    Good luck with the re-testing. For what it’s worth Mac failed his newborn screening twice, in the end they did a third set and tested Shawn and I as well for any other genetic combos and it all came back clear. hang in there.

  8. Katy February 2, 2010 at 3:41 am #

    Ah, yes, I have a similar response to Pampers diapers–they smell like the hospital to me.

    I wish you the best of luck–tests are the worst and I remember that point in our journey where we were failing all of them:( The fact that he’s gone home is a good indicator, though.

  9. Ellen February 4, 2010 at 11:25 pm #

    I have SO much to say I think I may write a blog post here. OK, first, let me respond to this and say, I am so sorry, I KNOW how you feel. I pray the test does not turn up anything. After Sabrina was born, I thought she was breathing funny one night and I insisted the nurse go find a doctor and when she brushed me off I was nearly hysterical. Irrationally so, but I was so traumatized by all that we had been through with Max. So, I get your worry, and I get how your worry is probably so exacerbated by what you went through with S. And I know that horrible NICU smell all too well, I am sure that smell is the same in the State or Australia or anywhere in the whole wide world. I would do just what you’re doing—try to stay focused on your delicious new baby, your absolutely BEAUTIFUL new baby. Now, I am horrified that I have been so out of the loop I have been AWOL from this blog and missed his birth. I have no excuse except that I got overwhelmed by life. I will be better about staying in touch, I promise.
    xo

  10. n0thingbuteverything February 9, 2010 at 10:58 pm #

    Thanks for all the comments! I really appreciate it!!

    We haven’t heard anything yet, so I am going to assume that no news is good news. Have been very reassured by friends who have had to redo the test and the MHN who has said that it’s pretty common and she’s never heard of it leading to a negative result.

    Nice to see you Ellen ;-).

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

