Christmas party time!

11 Dec

This year is the first year that S has been REALLY excited about Christmas. And I mean REALLY excited.

As he tells me about a hundred times a day ‘I can’t wait’.

We have done very little to instill him with such Christmas spirit. My husband, being from a different country, different culture and different religion doesn’t have much Christmas cheer and whilst I like Christmas, I think it’s best celebrated as a low key family affair.

So I can only assume that his very enthusiastic Christmas spirit has come from external sources – kindergarten, TV, local shops, friends. Who knows where else…..

As much as I haven’t done much to fill him with the joy of Christmas, I won’t say that I mind. I love seeing his excitement, his enthusiasm and his passion. For one, it’s totally age appropriate and I LOVE that. I love seeing him share the same excitement of other kids his age. I know I shouldn’t, but I do still find myself ‘checking’ to see that he’s keeping up with his peers.

M, on the other hand, is terrified of Santa. Won’t go near him. He also has no interest in any present that’s put his way. This thrills S who gets to open TWO sets of presents at Christmas parties.

And we’ve had several Christmas parties to attend of late.

A birthday party that doubled as a Christmas party because the grand-dad of the birthday boy is a professional Santa (how cool is that grand-dad!)

Then it was dad’s work Christmas party

We forgot to take our camera to the CPEC Christmas party but there was another Santa, lots of mirth and a wonderful Christmas play put on by some of the CPEC kids – so amazing to watch the kids, some with very limited mobility and speech use Voice devices, walking frames and a bit of help from a parent or carer to put on a nativity play and a Santa play. They’d been practicing for weeks and their enthusiasm was priceless! One of my fave ever performances!

Then this week, it was the kinder Christmas concert and party. S surprised me by his ability to stand unassisted for several songs, jingling his bells happily along with the other kids.

There was a bow at the end

And then LOTS and LOTS of Christmas party food (S was the last to leave the table!)

And because we can’t get M into the Christmas spirit (yet), here’s a few pics showing what he does LOVE – animals.

His first horse-ride

Cuddles with a bunny

And patting baby guinea pigs

Christmas cheer to all!

4 Responses to “Christmas party time!”

  1. Belinda December 14, 2009 at 3:25 am #

    All looks so great! xx.

  2. Alison December 17, 2009 at 11:44 pm #

    Di – those parties sound great. I would have loved to see the CPEC Christmas play! My girls are always the last to leave the party table too…

  3. Barbara December 24, 2009 at 6:22 pm #

    That photo with the bunny is absolutely heart-fluttering!

  4. Kara Sharp December 27, 2009 at 10:11 pm #

    Adorable pics! Looks like lots of fun. I love reading about S enthusiasm.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

