I’m cool

20 Nov

It’s time to make a confession. In those few weeks that I wasn’t blogging, I wasn’t only overwhelmed by all the things I had on my plate, I was a complete mess.

I was finding it hard to think straight and I was very emotional – teary at the smallest thing and not at all feeling in control. I was also very anxious. Worrying about everything – from the huge mortgage we were taking out, to whether or not I am actually going to be ready to dealwith another new born baby as well as looking after my two demanding boys. And I had no energy. I was flat as a tack, barely able to get through all the things I needed to do in a day – which was not particularly convenient seeing as I suddenly had a MILLION things to do each day. And the fact I wasn’t doing these things was just adding to my anxiety.

Fast forward to this week. On Wednesday I had a complete meltdown. Partly because it was really hot. Bloody hot. Far too hot for November. It was 28 deg C at 5am. And yes, I was up at 5am with a cheeky little boy. Later in the afternoon I had a big row with my husband (well, I ranted and raved and he sat on the couch looking shocked ;-)). I just wanted him to take control of ALL the things I had to do. I couldn’t possible imagine how I was going to get it all done when I couldn’t even get half way through a single task. There were tears (mine of course) and I was at a real low.

Less than an hour later, the hospital rang to tell me the results of my Glucose Tolerance Test that I had done on Monday – I was diagnosed with mild gestational diabetes. Most people would probably be upset, but me, I was relieved. It provided a possible answer to why I’ve been feeling so tired, unable to think particularly clearly and pretty much a fruit loop.

After just two days of a low GI diet, I am feeling so much more in control.  I’ve got most of the things done that I needed to do and I can feel myself thinking much more clearly.

I have an appointment with the Diabetes educator first thing Monday morning, but I’ve already figured a lot of stuff out (love you Google!). For those with permanent diabetes – WOW. I don’t think I’d ever fully appreciated what a lifestyle change it would be to have to carefully restrict and manage your diet.

And bless the Gods, the heatwave we’ve been experiencing here for the last few weeks seems to have broken. The weather dropped from 38 deg C to 24 deg C about 2 hours ago. The windows are all open and I am loving the cool breeze.

I am still a little concerned about the gestational diabetes – mostly because a side effect can be larger babies (check out this 19.2lb/8.7kg whopper born in Indonesia not too long ago!). Given that the complications that we had with BC’s birth were related to his size (4kg) I am naturally very keen to avoid a large baby. So I will be a very good girl over the next 8 weeks – even with Christmas and New Years festivities to get through – and I will follow doctors advice to the tee.

And fingers crossed, now that I know WHY I’ve been so flaky AND now that the cool change has arrived, I really will be cool B-).

4 Responses to “I’m cool”

  1. Gina November 20, 2009 at 10:36 pm #

    Di
    hope it stays cool for a while for you. it’s always nice to have a reason for our ‘flaky’ behaviour – glad the low GI is making life more in control – good luck over the silly season with it.
    G

  2. Sarah November 21, 2009 at 2:36 am #

    I hope the low GI diet continues to help

  3. karamelissa November 21, 2009 at 12:57 pm #

    I’m glad you are feeling better! Good luck with the low GI diet. When I was younger I was diagnosed with hypoglycemia, it seemed daunting at first to change my diet, but it was easy after a while.

  4. Alison November 22, 2009 at 11:04 am #

    I hope the diet is helping keep everything on an even keel.

    Hmmm….maybe I should try it to???

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

