Talking lesson.

23 Mar

It’s been AGES since we’ve had a speech therapy session.

BC’s early intervention centre does a lot of individual assessments in the first term of the year, so it takes a while for actual therapy sessions to get started.

I’ll be honest and say a big part of me doesn’t mind the break. It’s exhausting fitting everything into our week. We spend a lot of time in the car.

Also, these days, I feel a lot more confident about helping  BC developing effective communication skills because let’s face it, I know a lot more about this sort of thing than I did 4 years ago ;-).

Having a background in teaching English as a Second Language has helped a little too.

I know what a phoneme is. I know what a plosive is.

But, now that we’ve had a break from therapy and BC’s speech has made such gains, it was great to get some feedback on where we are at the moment and also build on  some new strategies.

BC’s speech therapist was VERY impressed with his willingness and ability to attempt making long sentences. It has reminded me that this time last year, we were really happy if he’d just say single words.

A year ago, if he wanted something to eat, he would use the makaton sign and maybe say ‘eat’. These days, he says ‘I’ve got a rumble in my tummy’ (thank-you Bananas in Pyjamas!).

A year ago, he never asked questions. Now, he asks them all day long – ‘Where are we going tomorrow?’, ‘Where are we going after that?’, ‘Who’s looking after me today?’, ‘What are we having for dinner?’.

His articulation is still not great. I understand most of what he says, but others often get it wrong.

He has a PODD communication book. Man, are these ever great. Now that BC is a little older, he LOVES his book. He brings it to people, he navigates his way around it and he gets frustrated when he’s unable to use it to find what he wants to say.

BC’s speech therapist was very impressed with his progress. She was able to point out some things that I don’t know much about -like the fact that he has much better control of his jaw movements. That his tongue is moving more independently. Cool.  We’re going to do some work on his open mouth ‘oo’ sounds and his ‘b’, ‘p’, ‘f’, ‘d’ sounds which he’s still having a lot of trouble controlling. Saliva control remains a priority too.

I’m also going to do some training in the ‘PROMPT’ system that his therapist uses. I LOVE this system. I can’t wait to learn more.

In the car on the way home, BC asked ‘Mum, when are we having a talking lesson again? I love talking lessons’.

Me too BC, me too.

4 Responses to “Talking lesson.”

  1. Sarah March 24, 2009 at 9:35 am #

    How exciting to hear how he has progressed in his speech this past year.

    Made me chuckle…BC saying “talking lessons”.

  2. Alison March 24, 2009 at 11:34 am #

    His progress is amazing – no wonder you love the ‘talking lessons’ too.

    By the way, what on earth is a plosive?

  3. Ellen March 25, 2009 at 3:18 am #

    He really is making great progress, you should be so proud. I hope Max can articulate sentences like he can someday. We have a speech therapist who uses PROMPT with Max, I think it’s a really great technique, and effective.

    I also don’t know what a “plosive” is! Share!

  4. n0thingbuteverything March 25, 2009 at 4:08 am #

    Thanks for the comments ;-).

    My turn to be the ‘talking teacher’ now:

    Put very simply, plosives are the consonant sounds we make by pushing a sound out with a puff of air.

    There are 6 basic plosives in English:
    /p/ /b/ /t/ /d/ /k/ /g/
    :-).

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

