Stem Cells

21 Mar

One of the (many) reasons I’m inclined to forgive Obama for his stupid ‘Special Olympics’ comment is because a couple of weeks ago he lifted the ban on stem cell research.

I don’t know a lot about stem cells. And I don’t know if stem cells hold the answers to effectively treating cerebral palsy and other conditions and diseases.

But I also know that they might.

Obama said on the day he lifted the ban:

“Ultimately, I cannot guarantee that we will find the treatments and cures we seek…But I can promise that we will seek them”

That’s enough for me.

Even if no treatments and cures are found, or even if they are but don’t happen in my lifetime, or BC’s lifetime, the research should be allowed.

I am glad that it is.

Because the limited research done so far, is promising.

Last week I read about this little girl from Australia who has been to Germany for stem cell treatment.

It’s expensive. Very expensive. But this family says they’ve seen results. They are already fundraising for more treatments. See their blog here.

I hope further funded research leads to further success, lowered costs and ready access for all to any successful treatments available.

I know that any successful widespread treatments that result from any research done could be 100 years away. But then again, it just might….it just might be around the corner.

Bring on the research!!! Like many others I’ll be keeping my eyes open for for news.

2 Responses to “Stem Cells”

  1. bron March 21, 2009 at 10:21 pm #

    hi Di,

    what a small world! remember a while back I went to a fundrasier for a little girl doing stem cell therapy? and you were keen to follow her? that is her! Sierra!
    I am also keen to follow their journey thanks for the link!
    bron

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Stem Cells Again… « N0thingbuteverything’s Weblog - April 25, 2009

    [...] April 25, 2009 · No Comments Another family from Australia are in the media to talk about going abroad for stem cell therapy, this time to China. (I mentioned another family in an earlier post) [...]

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

