This woman walked into a pram….

19 Mar

So, this woman walked into a pram…….

Sounds like the start of a bad joke, but was actually what happened to us at the pool this afternoon – I had my first ever experience of ‘pram rage’.

I was standing with Bean in the pram, waiting for BC, in his walker, to catch up with us in the foyer of the swimming pool, when a woman who was walking past, not watching where she was going, stumbled over the pram.

She looked at me.

I looked at her and smiled.

She looked at me again. She shook her head.

Then she said “Well, don’t you think you should say something?”

I considered ”Um….nice towel?’ but got the feeling that wasn’t what she wanted to hear.

“You just ran into me with your pram!” she shouted (loudly enough for people to stop and stare).

Stunned (but still smiling) I told her “Actually, I wasn’t moving. You walked into the pram.”

“You’ve got an attitude problem!” she shouted. “Sort yourself out!”

Sigh.

I didn’t bother saying anything else as she stormed out the door, but part of me really, really would have loved to mail her video footage of the ‘alleged incident’ so she could see what actually happened. It’d be nice to have my name cleared (I have a clean pram driving record up until now).

It reminded me of an incident that happened years ago when BC was still a baby and in a baby carrier on my chest. I used to talk to him all the time, telling him everything I was doing (stimulate those neural pathways!).

A woman walking past with 2 small children heard me say ‘No, I don’t like the look of those” (I was talking about some mouldy punnets of strawberries) and she was CONVINCED I was talking about her children.

She called me quite a few names unprintable in this G rated blog. I tried to tell her I was talking about the strawberries. But that just made her more cross. So, again I just smiled and sighed with relief when she walked away.

I ran into that woman (not physically of course!!!) quite a few times after that. I always felt very awkward and guilty as though I actually HAD done something wrong. Thankfully I haven’t seen her for ages.

I really, really hope I don’t see the pram rage lady again. She was scary.

Despite the ‘pram rage’ incident, once we were in the pool, we had a GREAT time.

And I have some exciting news (exciting with a little ‘e’).

BOTH my boys blew bubbles in the water for the first time.

YAY!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Water baby Bean did it first. Because there were lots of claps and cheers, BC decided he had to have a go too.

He blew bubbles twice until the count of 10. This is the first time he’s even TRIED to blow bubbles.

They were both so thrilled. It reminded me, yet again, of what great motivation sibling rivalry can be. ;-).

5 Responses to “This woman walked into a pram….”

  1. Susan, Mum to Molly March 19, 2009 at 11:13 am #

    I think there should definitely be a big E – blowing bubbles is very EXCITING and definitely to be celebrated.

    Well done BC and Bean!

    And well done to you for handling the pram rage so well, and managing to have a sense of humour about it.

    I am constantly amazed by the number of people who walk around without really looking where they are going (including my own gorgeous 6 year old, but that’s a whole other story!).

    GO the bubbler-boys!

  2. bron March 19, 2009 at 11:39 pm #

    Di, fantastic news on the oral motor front! Well done to both the boys. As for that woman was a nutbar maybe get the boys to splash her next time you are there!

  3. Heike Fabig March 20, 2009 at 1:34 am #

    She’s definately off her trolley. Or should that be, off her pram?

  4. Alison March 20, 2009 at 3:27 am #

    Fantastic news about the bubble blowing. My big 2 have just started swimming lessons so I definitely appreciate the significance of bubble blowing!

    That lady sounds crazy – how rude. Sounds like you handled it well – I would’ve been tempted to push her in the pool!

  5. Sensei Rich March 20, 2009 at 11:10 am #

    Great job guys…
    As for the rude lady… Yea, been there… Walking the mall is a real PAIN, I’ve had people cut me off, and walk right in front of me! Some times the cane helps, other times, it’s like why do I bother?

    I hate the ones that thing, I should look out for them… Kind of hard to do when you have bad eyesight.

    Working with O&M, we’re doing street crossings… Seems not many drivers understand pedestrian right-of-way! or MY right of way with a white cane!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

