Attention, Attention!

18 Mar

I don’t like getting attention, but we often get attention when we are out, regardless. I know people are curious seeing a little boy in a walking frame. I know they wonder what it is and why he has it and that some are curious enough to ask the dreaded question “What’s wrong with him?” (to which I replied, honestly, just a few days ago as he raced along a footpath at the peril of anyone in his path ‘He ate far too much cake. He’s having a sugar rush. Don’t worry. It will wear off soon.”)

So on the train on the way home from work today (yes! I am having another couple of days playing with the other grown ups!), I couldn’t believe that I read there are people out there, in the good old USA PAYING money, and lots of it, to be followed around by a pretend gaggle of paparazzi, all for the sake of them  getting a kick out of the attention from onlookers wondering what celebs they are.

Really?

YES.

And I take it the company is reasonably successful seeing as they operate in several cities and with a wide variety of packages.

I honestly, honestly, just don’t get this at all.

OK, so that’s probably partly because  IF I were famous and followed by the papps, I’d be the weekly feature of all those ‘Blooper’ style sections with my undies accidentally tucked into my skirt, picking my nose and showing off chunks of cellulite.

BUT it’s mostly because I can’t see the attraction of being watched and wondered at by strangers. Not even a little bit.

Instead, I wish longingly for days when no-one thinks of looking twice.

I hope it’s one of the great side benefits of inclusive education that the kids at BC’s kinder won’t look twice if they see a child in a walker in the future.  That’s it’s just another kind of normal to them.

So no. I won’t be spending $3000 US on the ‘Celeb 4 a day Megastar Package‘.

Still not convinced? Just for fun (and to make us mere mortals feel better about ourselves) here’s some more reasons why I just don’t get why anyone would pay for paparazzi attention ;-) :

ABC ENTERTAINMENT ‘Rich and Famous caught off guard’.

5 Responses to “Attention, Attention!”

  1. bron March 18, 2009 at 9:48 pm #

    Di, thanks for making me laugh out loud at the sugar rush comment! I also despise the “whats wrong with him” comment….I always say “nothing is wrong with him but he does have CP”

  2. Ellen March 19, 2009 at 4:28 am #

    I am also laughing at the sugar rush response!
    OK, that celeb 4 a day thing is absolutely bizarro. You couldn’t pay ME to do that!

  3. Alison March 19, 2009 at 5:54 am #

    I LOVE your answer about the sugar rush. I also LOVE the celeb-bad-day link.
    Who knew that Cindy Crawford and I have the same belly after having babies!!!

  4. Sarah March 19, 2009 at 8:11 am #

    Another laugh here with the sugar rush reasoning, lol!
    Alison, I have that belly aswell :-(

  5. Sensei Rich March 20, 2009 at 11:38 am #

    Um… I am a photographer and I can’t believe I just read that… I know many child photographers that do “A day in the life” packages. They follow your kid for the day getting shots, and makes nice books…

    But act like a paparazzi, never!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

