Archive | 11:16 am

Working 9-5!

15 Jan

For all those mums out there who go out to work on a regular basis, I salute you. You are amazing, super, incredible and I bet, really really tired!

I’ve been working all this week in the city (on a once off project) and while I’ve loved every minute of it, I have realised just how intense it is working full-time and then coming home to the full-time job of mum that doesn’t stop just because I’m doing another job.

The stimulation of being in a working, environment has been incredibly rewarding. It’s been fun playing at being an employee, a professional, something other than ‘mum’, and weird that it really HAS felt like I’ve been playing it, like I’m dressing up in someone else’s mum’s clothes and heading off on the train with all the REAL grownups, waiting to be found out and sent back home with my Spiderman lunchbox and overripe bananas…

There’s been a few interesting things that working has revealed to me. Firstly, when my colleagues ask what I usually do, I’ve felt embarrassed to say “I’m at home with the kids”. I don’t know why. I know I shouldn’t be. And I’ve resisted the urge to qualify the statement, explain away the REASON that I’m still at home as being because my son has ‘special needs’. Partly because it’s not their business, and secondly, I don’t see why I should somehow make it more acceptable to stay at home. It should be acceptable for whatever reason I choose. For whatever reason anyone chooses.

I thought about this more as I read this article whilst on the train heading into the city yesterday. Being a stay-at-home mum is worth $90 a week – the equivalent of 5 hours working as a cleaner???? I don’t think so.

The other interesting thing has been that it’s given me a lot of perspective, a fresh approach for the new year to come, once all the crazy therapy schedule starts and we’re back to ‘business’.

And that perspective is that even though it IS a crazy, busy time, I love it. I love spending time with my kids and I love that I’ve made that decision to stay at home a few more years so that I can be a part of BC’s therapy and the little Bean’s formative years too.

I totally understand, and respect, others who have taken a different path and are working, for whatever reason they choose, but I realise I shouldn’t complain too much when it all gets too busy. Nor should I feel embarrassed to say that I’m stayng at home. It’s what I’ve chosen to do, what I WANT to do, for now and at least for a few more years.

Now, if you’ll excuse me, I need to go find some more presentable grown up clothes to wear to the office tomorrow that don’t have paint, yoghurt, tomato sauce, grubby fingers marks etc all over them…and believe me, it could take a while!

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.