MSG and nightmares

12 Apr

Whenever I eat a decent dose of MSG (monosodium glutamate, flavour enhancer 621) I have nightmares.

Naturally, I avoid it whenever I can. But last night I was caught unawares by a particularly delicious batter on a piece of flake. I should have guessed it was laden with MSG because it just tasted so good.

That’s the problem with MSG. It DOES taste so good.

I have done a little research (not very thoroughly I’ll admit) to see if anyone else has nightmares after eating MSG, but haven’t found out much about it. I wonder if it’s just me.

Nightmares are so awful. Even when I wake up and know the scenario was ridiculous and would never actually happen, I still feel anxious.

Last night my nightmare was that I was in the backseat of the car with the boys, when I should have been in the front seat driving. We started going down a hill, heading towards a red light. I tried to dive into the front seat to push down the brake, but we were going so fast that every time I tried to sit up, I was pushed back into the rear seat. The thought kept going through my head – THIS IS REAL, THIS IS REAL. As we sped the last few metres towards the red light, I woke with a gasp.

My boys were asleep on either side of me as they are every night. They were both snoring gently. BC had pushed off all his covers as usual and Bean’s hands were curled into sweet little fists against his chest.

They were fine. We were all fine. But yet, I still felt the imminent fear of hurtling towards a red light, in an out of control vehicle, unable to stop .

Luckily, I have found a homeopathic remedy that helps ease the anxiety causing effects of the MSG. That helped once I got up and took it, but I wish I’d realised before I went to bed that I needed it, because I really do hate having nightmares. It ruins my whole night sleep.

I know that some people always believe dreams have a meaning or even a message. It’s not a great leap to see the meaning could be that I fear something happening to the boys. But was there also a message – Life’s moving too fast? Protect the children? Don’t sit in the back seat when you’re supposed to be driving?

I dunno, but I certainly will be back on full alert avoiding the MSG. I have enough of the reality to occupy the part of my brain that deals with worrying about the future to be wasting precious energy and brain space on the inanity of dumb old nightmares…

10 Responses to “MSG and nightmares”

  1. Deborah April 13, 2008 at 11:22 pm #

    You’re right – MSg does make things taste better, but I have a physical reaction everytime I have it. Doesn’t always stop me from eating something I suspect has MSG, but I do need to be prepared.

    Thanks for visiting my blog!

  2. Eilir October 21, 2008 at 4:51 pm #

    I have tried the test of eating chinese and then seeing if I get nightmares. And everytime I do! They are really real. This occurs ONLY if I have food with MSG’s.
    Hope this helps. I’m considering not eating chinese again because of this, but sadly my girlfriend loves the stuff.

  3. sean May 3, 2009 at 9:26 am #

    i also get nightmares like my mother when i have food with msg. usually obscure and far-fetched

    i wouldn’t say that they have meanings behind them, because the one i had last night was just way way way too out-there

  4. Mary June 2, 2009 at 12:59 am #

    PLEASE help! I live in South Korea (and don’t want to move) and MSG gives me HORRIBLE nightmares…what is the herbal cure you found.

    Please email me or post to my facebook inbox…emergency 911!!!!

  5. Christelle August 19, 2009 at 5:46 am #

    MSG is definitely a direct cause of nightmares and sleep disturbances. The problem is that MSG is found in almost every kind of processed food. I have found that when a product has artificial sweeteners and MSG, the nightmares and the sleep disturbances are far worse.

  6. Jane November 29, 2009 at 8:54 am #

    It is true. I have known for a long time that I have that reaction. I am sitting up now because we went to a family get together and I had something with some kind of special cajan seasoning on it. I thought that I woke my husband up after the first one only to realize after i truely woke up I was still having a nightmare. I am totally freaked out. It was very strange and creepy nightmare. Im scared to go back to sleep.

  7. Jane November 29, 2009 at 9:04 am #

    Me again I just read about and remembered then that msg is in meat tenderizer. The get to gether is a wild game cookout my brother inlaw has every year. So I bet they put it on they’re dear meat.

  8. Kiki April 21, 2011 at 6:18 pm #

    Gives me nightmares every single time I eat it!

  9. katrina may August 17, 2011 at 1:13 pm #

    I also have nightmares after eating MSG. Rarely do I have nightmares normally, but the night after eating MSG I have violent, ongoing night terrors that last through the night. In higher doses, it gives me hearth palpitations. So strange that only some people have this reaction. And a shame that I am one of them, since I live in Asia!

  10. wes vaught March 3, 2012 at 1:16 am #

    Oh Dear !
    I have waking nightmares from MSG.
    They involve trips to the Emergency Room with life threatening and overwhelmingly painful experiences.
    This has made me clean up my act out of pure fear of ever having to go through such a thing again.
    It is up to me.
    I have to walk the straight and narrow or suffer as though being tortured.
    Honestly.
    Learn to be well and just do it.
    Wes

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

